# North Carolina Association of Insurance Professionals 78<sup>th</sup> Annual Convention Second Business Session – Minutes November 2, 2019

Council Director Burgess brought the meeting to order at 9:02 am. She introduced our speaker Dhiresha Marshall, BS, Brain Based Coaching Certified to present her program on how to Master Difficult Conversations. It was a thought provoking and useful message.

RVP Jessica Pruitt shared that International 2020 will be in Louisville, Kentucky June 11 to 13<sup>th</sup> and 2021 will be held in Orlando, Florida.

We moved on to our business meeting with Bonnie Lea-Surgeon, Chairman of the Credentials Committee confirming that there were no changes to the Credentials Report. The voting strength remained at <u>6</u>.

Todd Jones, Chairman of the Nominating Committee presented the following slate of officers for the 2020-2021:

Council Director: Kimmie Rogers
Council Director-Elect: Jacque Clark

Secretary: Laura Scott

Fund Custodian: Cathy Bowling

Since there were no nominations from the floor and there was only one candidate for each office, the secretary cast a unanimous ballot for the slate of officers. Council Director Burgess reported the installation of the officers will be later in our program.

The Nominating Committee nominated Norell Smith, as Chairman of the 2020 Nominating Committee. Delegates voted to accept Norell Smith as the 2020 Nominating Committee Chair.

Nominations were opened for members to 2020 NCAIP Nominating Committee. Geraldine Plott nominated Trisha Herald and Cathy Bowling nominated Beth Wilkerson as members to the Nominating Committee. Cathy Bowling made the motion to accept the nominations and Roberta Clodfelter seconded. The Delegates voted to accept these members to the 2020 Nominating Committee.

Nominations were opened for Alternates to the 2020 NCAIP Nominating Committee. Beth Wilkerson nominated Joetta MacMiller and Geraldine Plott nominated Betty Callicutt. Roberta Clodfelter made the motion to accept the nominations and Pam Grimes seconded the motion. The Delegates voted to accept the nominees as Alternates to the 2020 NCAIP Nominating Committee.

Council Director Burgess called on Kimmie Rogers NCAIP Council Director-Elect & Chairman of the Bylaws committee for her report. The Bylaws Committee made the following recommendations to 2 bylaws:

### The current bylaw reads:

Article V Officers, Sec 6, E:

E. The Fund Custodian shall: 1. Be custodian of all state association funds. 2. Receive all monies and disburse funds only upon the sanction of the Board of Directors or membership. 3. Submit written reports at each meeting. 4. File any tax reports required. 5. Keep the membership records 6. Perform any additional duties assigned by the Council Director or stated in these bylaws.

### **Proposed Amendment:**

ADD 7. Be the custodian of the NCAIP Annual Convention Fund account.

Reason: With the establishment of the NCAIP Annual Convention Committee the NCAIP Fund Custodian needs to manage the NCAIP Annual Convention account.

The Delegates voted to accept the bylaws amendment as recommended.

### The current bylaw reads:

Article VI Meetings, Sec 1, B:

B. The registration fee for the annual meeting shall be determined by the hosting association with the approval of the Council Director.

## **Proposed Amendment:**

B. The registration fee for the annual meeting shall be determined by the NCAIP Annual Convention Committee with the approval of the Council Director.

**Reason:** Change "hosting association" to "NCAIP Annual Convention Committee" as set forth in Standing Rule 17.

The Delegates passed both recommendations to the bylaws.

Council Director Burgess read the following: In accordance with Standing Rule 17, NCAIP Annual Convention. Each local association will appoint a member to the NCAIP Convention Committee and one Member-at-Large will be asked to serve. The NCAIP officers will serve on the NCAIP Convention Committee and appoint a committee chairman from those on the committee. This would apply to all future annual conventions.

Council Director Burgess introduced the 2020 NCAIP Convention Committee Members are as follows:

#### Officers-

Council Director: Kimmie Rogers
Council Director-Elect: Jacque Clark

Secretary: Laura Scott

Fund Custodian: Cathy Bowling

#### **Local Association Representatives -**

Charlotte: Kayla Dana Greensboro: Brian Tilley Piedmont: Betty Callicutt

Raleigh:

Randolph: No one available

Triangle: Cathy Bowling

Wilmington:

MAL:

The time and place of the 2020 NCAIP Annual Convention to be determined.

The chair then called on Pam Grimes for the 2020-2021 Installation of Officers:

Council Director - Kimmie Rogers
Council Director-Elect: Jacque Clark

Secretary: Laura Scott

Fund Custodian: Cathy Bowling

Council Director Burgess thanked Pam Grimes, and also thanked the Officers. She asked the newly elected officers if they would like to share some thoughts with us and each member shared some of their aspirations. Burgess said she was looking forward to visiting the local associations. After making sure there was no other business to come before the membership, she called on the Secretary for any announcements.

Secretary Bennington reported the Awards Luncheon would follow the meeting at 12:00 in the TW Alexander Room.

With no other announcements, Counsel Director Burgess hit the gavel and declared the 78<sup>th</sup> Annual Convention of the North Carolina Association of Insurance Professionals was adjourned at 11:00 am.

#### Addendum:

At the Awards Luncheon our speakers were Dianna and Amaya Scoggins. Amaya developed an Autism Sticker Program for her Girl Scout Awards Program. The Association passed the hat to give a donation to her program and in support of our Public Relations Project for the year.

We recognized those members with designations: 12 CWC, 7 CIIP, 2 DAE.

We memorialized 3 NCAIP members who passed away this year. Debbie Rae Connolly, Ann Ross Goss and Ona May Campsey.

We gave out awards to the following members and associations.

### The NCAIP Excellence Awards:

Category A: Durham Association Category B: Greensboro Association Category C: Charlotte Association

Insurance Professional of the Year Award: Kimmie Rogers Service Professional of the Year Award: Beth Wilkerson

Rookie of the Year Award: Lindsey Kiel

Young New Professional of the Year Award: Carli Witcher

Individual Excellence Award: Robin Bennington

CWC Competition Winner: Cathy Bowling

Council Director's Award 2018-2019: Todd Jones

Respectfully submitted, Robin A Bennington NCAIP Secretary 2019-2020